Author Topic: Introducing Dutch Brammo owner  (Read 473 times)

Haplo

• Enciter
    • View Profile
    • Email
Introducing Dutch Brammo owner
« on: September 30, 2023, 10:17:14 AM »
Hi there,..

Great forum! I have done a lot of reading already, but since I would like to contribute and/or make use or all the knowledge here I just registered. And with a new member a short introduction:

I'm Bert and from he Netherlands, Europe. I'm 45 years old and riding bikes since i'm 18. I have ridden all sorts of bikes. Small bikes, big bikes, fast and slow and everything in between. I'm an mechanical engineer and as such also like to work on bikes. And with that my bike fascination is not complete, cause I also do motorsport. An agility sport called: motogymkhana. It's not so hard to explain, but much easier to show: https://youtu.be/lPXKavzPj3I?si=QIsenj6__pZ917Mi

Fast forward to Brammo: I am into electric motorcycles since I drove one of the first Zero's here in NL and loved the acceleration and quiet ride. However I didn't like the Zero because of the slow acceleration from standstil. My goal would be to also use it for motogymkhana and the Zero just wasn't fast enough. At that time I was riding a CB1 for motogymkhana (400cc, not a fast bike) and from standstill it just trashed the Zero (FSX). Also drove Energica's and every other E-Bike, but nothing was really my liking,.. yep,.. i'm hard to please.. ;)

So I decided to build my own. Ive done project before and,. did I mention I was an engineer,.. ;) However getting a electric-motorbike licensed in NL is a pain. And for my sport a bike needs to be licensed. So,.. the dream of building an E-bike vanished soon. My new idea was to buy a cheap E-bike, so I would have an registerd E-bike frame and build my dream bike on that. But the year writes 2015 or 16 and 2nd hand Zero's were still rare and very expensive. Not a good investment for an rebuilding project. So I waited...