Author Topic: Variable Regen Throttle  (Read 1138 times)

HadesOmega

• Brammovangelist
    • View Profile
    • Email
Variable Regen Throttle
« on: May 01, 2020, 06:03:06 PM »
Last year I bought a Sur Ron Light Bee electric dirtbike/moped thingie.  I upgraded the controller to an ASI BAC2000 controller and one of the features is the ability to use a regen throttle.  I've never used a regen throttle before so I wanted to give it a try and after using it for a few months it's the tits!  You're able to precisely control the amount of regen.  I suppose it is similar to the regen button on the Chevy Bolt or if you've heard about the Riperton superbike they removed the rear brakes and installed a regen brake lever instead.   Or like the Kawasaki prototype EV bike has something very similar.  It takes some learning to get used to but it becomes second nature after a while.

One drawback is it heats your battery up fast soooo it'll overheat your battery and you'll loose regen suddenly.  Also if your battery is fully charged and you get on the regen hard it will cut off regen because you'er overcharging the battery.  I think the Energicas do something like this.  One good thing is you don't use your mechanical brakes at all, save on brake pads, or use your mechanical brakes.  It's easier to control than off throttle regen also.  Operating the throttle mostly required 2 hands also because you'll want to hold on to the bar or you'll go flying foward.  I hope electric motorcycle will incorporate something like this in the future. 

Here's some videos I made about it.  Kinda long but I tested it in different conditions.

BAC2000 Sur Ron Light Bee Regen Throttle VLOG

BAC2000 Sur Ron Light Bee Regen Throttle Test H20 Hillclimb + Horseshoe Singletrack

BAC2000 Sur Ron Light Bee Metcalf Trail 3 Variable Regen Test Ride

BAC2000 Sur Ron Light Bee Off Throttle Regen Test on Horseshoe Singletrack

BAC2000 Sur Ron Light Bee Regen Throttle Street Test Part 1