Author Topic: LED handle bar lights  (Read 1215 times)

skuzzle

• Brammovangelist
    • View Profile
LED handle bar lights
« on: February 25, 2014, 02:47:14 AM »
I finally managed to finish my Empulse lighting project.  I've been collecting parts for a couple of months now.  The lights are mounted in the old mirror mount points.  I had to buy mirror adapters to get useable bolts.  (Note that the right mount is reverse threaded)  I had to drill the light mount hole a bit larger.  This setup probably will not work with a wind screen.

I bought the lights with brackets on Ebay for $52 a pair with shipping.  I'm guessing that they put out at least 700 lumens each, using 10 watts each.  I found a handle mount switch for the lights, although it has the marking of a kill switch.  I used the purple Molex (.062 series) for power.  Fry's has the plugs and crip connectors.  I had to order a crimper online.  I found a couple of good youtube videos about how to make Molex connectors/crimps that were very useful. 

The finish product is a big big improvement.  I can't see the stock light at all when the LED's are on.  They are a bit too bright for use with on-coming traffic.  They are supposed to be narrow beams, but I they seem to cover two road lanes at 100-200 feet.  I need some time to adjust them. 

Shinysideup

• Brammovangelist
    • View Profile
Re: LED handle bar lights
« Reply #1 on: February 25, 2014, 01:15:17 PM »