Author Topic: New Brammo rider in Philadelphia  (Read 3987 times)

roma258

• Brammovangelist
    • View Profile
New Brammo rider in Philadelphia
« on: November 11, 2014, 04:58:17 PM »
Hey folks, might be jumping the gun a little since the bike is not yet in my possession, but it's all but official. I pulled the trigger on one of the Brammo Empulse R press bikes being sold on ebay by Automania out in Oregon. This Silver jawn in particular: http://www.ebay.com/itm/281490638821
I actually went back and forth between the yellow and silver, and in the end the stealth bomber aesthetic won out.

I've been riding bikes for about 10 years now, started riding track about 5 years ago. I race minis with our local MiniGP club based in NJMP and did my first big track race on my track SV when AHRMA came through in July. I binned it on the last lap unfortunately ??? My current street bike is a 2001 Yamaha FZ1 which is a terrific all-arounder, and I'm gonna try to finagle a way to keep it.

I've been following electric bikes ever since they came on the scene. Generally speaking, I'm not much of an early adopter, but something has always resonated about the idea. I remember being blown away by the initial sketches of the Empulse and eagerly waiting for the reviews to start pouring in. It took a while, but once they finally hit the market, I was in love. Wes Siler's review for the long lamented Hell for Leather website really sealed it for me. Unfortunately at $19k it's been completely out of my price range. When the Brammo fall promo came around, I called up our local dealer (Eurosports) and they had a 13 Empulse R demo in stock. I took a test ride, loved it....but still just couldn't pull the trigger. Finally seeing the press bikes come up, that was it, I could almost justify it to my wife :) Anyway, I'm seriously excited, this winter is going to be agonizing, but I can't wait to start zipping around all over the place and freaking people out with tie fighter stealthiness.