Author Topic: Hello from Colorado  (Read 2641 times)

ColoBrammo

• View Profile
Hello from Colorado
« on: July 17, 2010, 01:23:09 AM »
Hi folks, I'm owner of Enertia #000121, in Lafayette, Colorado (near Boulder).  I really thought Brammo would have shipping more bikes than this- really, how many bikes has Brammo shipped????  Maybe the serial number is misleading?

I've been researching and watching the electric two wheel scene for about 10 months now.  In fact, I had put money down on a Vectrix on a Saturday last October, and that Monday the company was bankrupt.  I canceled that purchase and decided to get either a Zero or a Brammo the following Spring summer. 

I'm an Electrical Engineer working for Texas Instruments, and I have a lot of customers that develop various automotive, motor control, and battery operated products. 

I've got about 150 miles on the bike so far.  I have a suburban commuting environment and live about 12 miles from the office on two lane roads having speed limits between 35 and 50 MPH.  I was assuming that 40 miles of range would be sufficient for my commute w/o having to recharge at the office, however, the first time I did this trip I only had 12% battery capacity left when I got home.  That was too close and I was a little disappointed.  My average speed for the trip is ~40 MPH with minimal stopping and starting.  It was very hot (95F outside) for the return trip so perhaps that had something to do with it, and certainly as the BMS adapts to the battery I will likely see better range.

Registering this bike in Colorado costs about $830.  There's state sales tax, county sales tax, RTD tax, ownership tax, road and bridge tax, VIN verification, and probably a few other things I'm forgetting.  I'd forgotten how much is cost to register a new vehicle.  Now you know where my Federal Tax credit will be going...