Author Topic: More Power to get away from the traffic light?  (Read 3254 times)

Rano

• Empulse Guru
    • View Profile
    • Email
Re: More Power to get away from the traffic light?
« Reply #15 on: January 11, 2013, 04:16:35 PM »
So. Now I went home from work early and got a new free app for my mobile. It was very freezy, about -3 deg, but I wanted to make some measurements. Ok, just via GPS, but it seems to work fine!

As now the kids are in bed, my wife if talking and talking and talking to her best friend, I got plenty of time.

One conclusion for me is - yes, the acceleration upto 50 km/h is nearly constant. Funny, as off-the-line it feels horribly slow, also ambitious mazda driver are very close to my rear mirror for the first 10 meters. Afterwards, acceleration is fine. But, as I am an engineer, I trust the measurement. Constant acceleration. I must accept.

Oh I just see its not 12m/s^s , its 12 (km/h)/s, but who cares now. Just a benchmark.

As I could not drive that far, my fingers were getting blue inside my gloves, I took a little hilly road, yellow is the altitude which my mobile thought of.

« Last Edit: January 11, 2013, 04:33:48 PM by Arnman »

Rano

• Empulse Guru
    • View Profile
    • Email
« Reply #16 on: January 11, 2013, 04:25:07 PM »
17 seconds until 100 km/h, but it really has been cold. Engine about 45 deg.

Btw, brammofan, thanks a lot, now I can add images directly (excessively..)

Heres a sum of all accelerations which I measured

One time, magenta, there has been no acceleration in the first time? Don´t know whether it is a measurement error or real. But in fact, sometimes when I squeezed myself in the front of the traffic light, there seems to be a delay in acceleration. hmmm.

One other issue seems to be very interresting, at least for me.
It does not matter if I take 50% (approximately, my right hand has been cold as an ice cube) or 100% of throttle?

Rano

• Empulse Guru
    • View Profile
    • Email