Author Topic: Chain tensioning  (Read 3426 times)

Brammofan

• Administrator
  • Brammovangelist
  • Following the momentum of Enertia
    • View Profile
    • Email
Chain tensioning
« on: October 05, 2011, 09:49:44 AM »
I noticed my chain was getting a bit looser than it should.  I was going to adjust it before I left the house this morning, but realized I needed either a 27mm socket or wrench for the axle nut.  The chain has been adjusted once already - by BrammoJen during one of her visits - but this will be my first time.  The Owners manual makes it look pretty straightforward, but if anyone has any pointers, please chime in.
The Brammoforum Wiki is still active: http://www.brammoforum.com/wiki

Richard230

• Brammovangelist
    • View Profile
Re: Chain tensioning
« Reply #1 on: October 05, 2011, 10:39:36 AM »
I have been adjusting chains for 50 years and those instructions are some of the best I have seen. The only thing I can add is to double check the chain sag after tightening the axle bolt. For some reason, the chain sag always seems to tighten up a bit when the axle bolt is fully tightened. Don't forget to pick up a few extra cotter pins and reinstall a new one. Another option is to use a re-usable cotter pin, but you will have to find one that will fit around that large axle nut. Also, don't use any lubricant on the axle nut when reinstalling it. Just clean it and the axle threads thoroughly before reinstalling the nut.

The nut can be removed by using a large adjustable wrench, but you will need a socket and a 3/8 drive torque wrench to reinstall it properly. Really cheap torque wrenches can be purchased from Harbor Freight and they will work OK for a part like an axle nut. However, fancy and easy to use torque wrenches, such as the Sears Digitork models are my favorite, but they cost around $100 each.

If you have any specific questions about adjusting chains, I'll be glad to reply, Brammofan