Author Topic: Clip-Ons anyone?  (Read 2673 times)

implovator

• Empulse Guru
    • View Profile
Clip-Ons anyone?
« on: February 24, 2013, 03:47:06 PM »
I've been riding standard bars for a few years now and I swore I'd never ride clip-ons on the street again. I might reconsider with the Empulse though. The cockpit is tight and small and I actually struggle to get my head low when hanging off. I *feel* like my helmet is nearly hitting the bar. to compensate, I try to slide back in the saddle, but the sloping seat makes that difficult.

I'm not trying to be critical, I am just amazed at how well it handles out of the box and I think I just want to corner it more aggressively. I'll probably ride it purely stock for a while and see what I think once I get rearsets on there.

Seriously though...this think flat out handles. The dampening is a little firm for the street, but despite the backend hopping around through corners it still feels really planted. I can't wait until break-in is over. :)

7racer

• Brammovangelist
    • View Profile
    • Email
Clip-Ons anyone?
« Reply #1 on: February 24, 2013, 07:50:28 PM »
Would love this.  Anyone know what would fit?

FreepZ

• Brammovangelist
    • View Profile
    • Empulse Experience
    • Email
Re: Clip-Ons anyone?
« Reply #2 on: February 24, 2013, 08:00:32 PM »
I would like to change out the handlebar too.

Since I'm trying to hyper-mile, I want to get as low as possible and stay there for about an hour (the time it takes me to go about 50 miles). I'm actually resting my chest on the tank while I ride. Wide handlebars are very uncomfortable in that position. (The mirrors are also useless since my head is way past the mirrors, which is why I'm trying out some bar end mirrors.)

I spoke to a few people about replacement handlebars. I would be interested to see how well clipons would work, and if they would be any more comfortable when riding in a tucked position.
Richard #935 #595 #44

implovator

• Empulse Guru