Author Topic: Opinion - Why electric motorcycles are failing.  (Read 977 times)

sunchaser

• Brammovangelist
    • View Profile
Opinion - Why electric motorcycles are failing.
« on: July 11, 2021, 03:19:45 PM »
This video makes some valid points about why electric motorcycles are struggling in the marketplace.

Richard230

• Brammovangelist
    • View Profile
Re: Opinion - Why electric motorcycles are failing.
« Reply #1 on: July 11, 2021, 05:01:33 PM »
I have been considering this subject for the past 10 years and have come to the conclusion that motorcycle enthusiasts and buyers are so conservative that they are just not interesting in moving away from noise, shifting, lots of obvious power and the lack of any "range anxiety".  Plus, as Fortnight says, there is also the little matter of price and what you are getting for that money. Motorcyclists and the people that repair and sell them are a lot more familiar with mechanical stuff, and electricity is just something mysterious that they don't understand. But mostly, they want people to see and hear them.

Can you imagine a Hell's Angel type, riding a big cruiser with chrome skulls, finger-less gloves, leather jacket with a club patch on this back and a WWI German helmet with a spike on the top riding a quiet electric motorcycle? How would anyone know to look their way so that they can show off their uniform and scare little children and grandmothers?  ::)

I was at Alice's Restaurant this morning and I could hardly hear myself think from all of the noisy sports cars and motorcycles that drove by. None of those vehicles made that kind of noise when they left the factory. Their owners had to work on the cars with hammers and hacksaws to make them sound like that. When I visit motorcycle forums, one of the longer threads, after windshields, seats and the best oil it use, are where can I get a louder muffler.  ;)